Strategy Group

The strategy group was created with the NIHR funding award and met up to twice yearly during the 8.5 years of the award between 2009 - 2017. Their role was to provide guidance and specialised input in relation to the progress of the NIHR programme. The final membership of the group comprised:

  • Ms Christine Allmark: National Cancer Research Institute Consumer Liaison Group (NCRI CLG) and Independent Cancer Patients Voice (ICPV)
  • Dr Sheila Fisher: Leeds Institute of Cancer and Pathology, University of Leeds
  • Ms Katrina Hurley: Senior Research Nurse, Head and Neck Surgical Research Team, University of Bristol
  • Dr Vanessa Marshall: Manager NIHR Bristol BRC Nutrition Theme
  • Professor Andy Ness: Professor of Epidemiology, Bristol Dental School, University of Bristol
  • Professor Chris Nutting: Professor of Radiation Oncology at the Institute of Cancer Research and Director of Head and Neck Unit at the Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust
  • Professor Tim Peters: Professor of Primary Care Health Services Research
  • Ms Rosanna Preston: Previous Chief Executive at the Cleft Lip and Palate Association (CLAPA)
  • Professor Simon Rogers: Consultant Maxillofacial Surgeon, University Hospital Aintree
  • Professor Nicky Rumsey: Research Director at The Centre for Appearance Research, University of the West of England
  • Professor Jonathan Sandy: Professor of Orthodontics; Dean of Medicine and Dentistry; University of Bristol
  • Dr David Stokes: Chief Executive, Cleft Lip and Palate Association
  • Professor Steven Thomas: Professor in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Bristol Dental School, University of Bristol
  • Dr Andrea Waylen: Senior Lecturer in Psychology, Bristol Dental School, University of Bristol
  • Professor Helen Worthington: Cochrane Oral Health Group, School of Dentistry, The University of Manchester